Business Model Canvas - STARTPLATZ

Business Model Canvas

Business Model Canvas

The Business Model Canvas (abbr. BMC) has become the method of choice for visualizing the business model and a startup idea and to test whether it also makes good business sense. Many experts now believe the Business Model Canvas can completely replace the outdated business plan. Developed by Alexander Osterwalder and published in his book „Business Model Generation“, the Business Model Canvas has already reached more than 5,000,000 users. It is considered a handbook for visionaries and instigators who want to turn outdated business models on their head and promote innovation.

Why Business Model Canvas?

Every idea needs a functioning business model, if it is to hold up in the long run and reach as many people as possible. It is easier to actualise a bad idea with a good business model than the best idea without. Business Model Canvas helps to combine all the essential elements of a successful business model in a scalable system. As a Startup, in which the business model is usually not perfectly clear, you can quickly compare different versions. Even existing business models in innovative companies can rapidly develop further with BMC to get ideas about how the company could operate in 2, 5 or 10 years. The following 2-minute video explains how the Business Model Canvas works.

 

 

Business Model Canvas instead of Business Plan

Business Model Canvas has become an important element of the Lean Startup philosophy. Alexander Osterwalder shows in the following presentation how the Business Model Canvas is used in the context of Lean Startup and Customer Development.

 


Would you like to know more?
Subscribe to our newsletter and get your free „Business Model Canvas“ White Paper now!





The 9 Elements of Business Model Canvas

Simply download the Business Model Canvas PDF, print it out and begin to visualize your first business models with post-its. Many thanks to Alexander Osterwalder, who has released the PDF at BusinessModelGeneration.com under Creative Commons.

Business Model Canvas

Customer Segments

Every startup has a specific audience in mind, or is at least looking for market segments that benefit from the added value of its products. This could include anything from a small niche to the mass market. Perhaps it’s a „multi-sided market“, in which the user is not always the customer, such as in the case of Google search (user: searcher / customer: advertiser). Through validated learning the profile of the customer segment should become increasingly clearer and fit optimally to the Value Proposition. Who are your target audiences?

Value Propositions

Businesses, regardless of size, basically have one central task. They solve certain problems or needs their customer might have. This is known in Business Model Canvas as „value proposition“. The product offered by your Startup can newer, better, more appropriate, more stylish, more affordable, or simply more user-friendly than those given, in order to solve the problems of the customer segment. What benefits do your customers have when they work with you?

Channels

This is how you interact with your customers … starting with attracting attention for the product, through distribution channels and delivery to after-sales service. How do your customers come to know about your offer and how do they get it?

Customer Relationships

Customers expect, depending on the offer, a certain kind of service and treatment. Many tech startups offer Software as a Service (SaaS) in the B2C market, where the interaction is almost fully-automated. Another startup might offer customisable services which make direct human interaction necessary. How you design the customer relationship is an important part of the business model and should be clearly defined. How do you to get, keep, and upgrade your customers?

Revenue Streams

There are often several ways to earn money from the same value proposition. The Business Model Canvas can be used especially in this area to try out different options and identify new business models. One-off payments bring money in quickly, whereas subscribers promise continuous cash flow over time. Perhaps elements of the value proposition to offer can be licensed or rented out. After these more strategic considerations it is time to ask questions about the pricing model. Where does the money come from in this business model?

Key Resources

As a startup, one is often even moreso reliant upon certain resources in order to bring a value proposition to market, because the infrastructure is still in its infancy. What physical, human and financial resources are indispensable?

Key Activities

In order to actualise the value proposition, certain central activities are required. The development of an app, new solutions for clients or networks should be included in this section of the Business Model Canvas. What are the key activities to keep this business model going?

Key Partnerships

Depending on the business model, it is advisable as a startup to enter into a strategic partnership with non-competitors, suppliers or service providers in order to reduce risk or to ensure scalability. Who are your most important partners?

Cost Structure

Costs arise in areas of implementation, especially for Key Activites, Resources and Partnerships. With this in mind, the most important cost items should be detected quickly. What are your most important expenses, without which the business model would not run?


Suchbegriff: business-model-canvas

  • Tuesday, 24.09.19, 17:00 - 20:00 Uhr
  • STARTPLATZ, Im Mediapark 5, 50670 Köln
  • Carolin Gattermann

  • Wednesday, 08.04.20, 17:00 - 20:00 Uhr
  • STARTPLATZ, Im Mediapark 5, 50670 Köln
  • Carolin Gattermann


Recommended Reading: Alexander Osterwalder’s „Business Model Generation“

Alexander Osterwalder, born in 1974, is himself an Entrepreneur and a highly-regarded business model innovator. His Startup „Business Model Foundry“ has set itself the task of developing new tools for innovators and startups. As author and speaker, he’s traveled the world and has reached over 5,000,000 people with his Business Model Canvas We heartily recommend his book Business Model Generation: A Handbook for Visionaries, Game Changers, and Challengers and website businessmodelgeneration.com.


Startup Wiki

 

Neueste Beiträge

Business Model Canvas für Startups und Corporates

Business Model Canvas

Was ist Business Model Canvas? Das Business Model Canvas (kurz: BMC) ist das Mittel der Wahl, um das Geschäftsmodell und eine Startup Idee zu visualisieren und zu testen, ob diese auch unternehmerisch sinnvoll ist. Viele Experten sind mittlerweile der Meinung, das Business Model Canvas kann den veralteten Business Plan vollständig ersetzen. Entwickelt von Alexander Osterwalder und veröffentlicht in seinem Buch „Business Model Generation“, hat das Business Model Canvas bereits mehr als 5.000.000 Nutzer erreicht. Es gilt als Handbuch für Visionäre und Impulsgeber, die veraltete Geschäftsmodelle auf den Kopf stellen und Innovation vorantreiben wollen.
 

Warum Business Model Canvas?

 
Jede Idee braucht ein funktionierendes Geschäftsmodell, wenn sie sich langfristig halten und möglichst viele Menschen erreichen möchte. Es ist leichter eine schlechte Idee mit einem guten Geschäftsmodell zu verwirklichen als die beste Idee ohne. Das Business Model Canvas hilft dabei, alle wesentlichen Elemente eines erfolgreichen Geschäftsmodells in ein skalierbares System zu bringen. Als Startup, in dem das Geschäftsmodell in der Regel noch nicht vollkommen klar ist, kann man schnell verschiedene Varianten miteinander vergleichen. Auch bestehende Geschäftsmodelle in innovativen Unternehmen lassen sich mit dem Canvas schnell weiter entwickeln, um Ideen zu bekommen wie das Unternehmen in 2, 5 oder 10 Jahren operieren könnte. Das folgende Video erklärt euch in 2 Minuten wie das Business Model Canvas funktioniert.




 

Die 9 Elemente des Business Model Canvas

 

Customer Segments

 
Jedes Startup hat eine bestimmte Zielgruppe im Auge oder ist zumindest auf der Suche nach Marktsegmenten, die einen hohen Nutzen durch ihr Produkt haben. Von einer kleinen Nische bis zum Massenmarkt kann hier alles drin stehen. Vielleicht handelt sich auch um einen „Multi-sided Market“, in dem der User nicht gleich der Kunde ist, wie z.B. bei der Google Suche (User: Suchender / Kunde: Advertiser). Durch validiertes Lernen sollte das Bild der Customer Segments immer klarer werden und optimal zu der Value Propositon passen. Wer sind eure Zielgruppen?
 

Value Propositions

 
Unternehmen egal welcher Größe haben im Grunde nur eine zentrale Aufgabe. Sie lösen bestimmte Probleme ihrer Kunden oder befriedigen ein Bedürfnis. Dieses Nutzenversprechen wird im Business Model Canvas „Value Proposition“ genannt. Das von eurem Startup angebotene Produkt kann neuer, besser, passender, stylischer, günstiger oder einfach nutzerfreundlicher sein, als dasjenige,  welches es bisher gab, um das Problem des Customer Segments zu lösen. Welchen Nutzen haben eure Kunden, wenn sie mit euch zusammenarbeiten?
 

Channels

 
Hier beschreibt ihr wie ihr mit euren Kunden interagiert .. angefangen mit dem Erregen von Aufmerksamkeit für das Produkt, über Vertriebswege und die Lieferung hin zum Service nach dem Verkauf. Wie erfahren eure Kunden von eurem Angebot und wie bekommen sie es?
 

Customer Relationships

 
Kunden erwarten je nach Angebot eine gewisse Art von Service und Umgang. Viele Tech Startups bieten Software as a Service (SaaS) im B2C Markt an, wo die Interaktion mit dem Kunden fast zu 100% automatisiert ist. Ein anderes Startup bietet vielleicht individuell anpassbare Dienstleistungen an, die eine direkte zwischenmenschliche Interaktion notwendig machen. Wie man die Kundenbeziehung gestaltet, ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Geschäftsmodells und sollte klar definiert sein. Wie gewinnt, haltet und upgradet ihr eure Kunden?
 

Revenue Streams

 
Es gibt oft mehrere Wege, um mit der selben Value Proposition Geld zu verdienen. Gerade in diesem Bereich kann man mit dem Business Model Canvas verschiedene Optionen gut durchspielen und neue Geschäftsmodelle identifizieren. Einmalzahlungen bringen schnell Geld in die Kasse, aber Abonnenten versprechen kontinuierlichen Cash Flow über längere Zeit. Vielleicht bieten sich auch Elemente der Value Proposition zum Lizensieren oder Vermieten an. Nach diesen eher strategischen Überlegungen stellt sich hier zudem noch die Frage nach dem Preismodell. Woher kommt in diesem Geschäftsmodell das Geld?
 
 
Business Model Canvas
 

Key Resources

 
Besonders als Startup ist man oft auf gewisse Ressourcen angewiesen um die Value Proposition zu vermarkten, da die Infrastruktur noch in den Kinderschuhen steckt. Welche physischen, menschlichen und finanziellen Ressourcen sind unverzichtbar?
 

Key Activities

 
Um die Value Proposition zu verwirklichen sind bestimmte, zentrale Tätigkeiten notwendig. Die Entwicklung einer App, neuer Lösungen für Kunden oder eines Netzwerks sollten in diesen Bereich des Business Model Canvas einfließen. Was sind die wichtigsten Tätigkeiten um dieses Geschäftsmodell am Laufen zu halten?
 

Key Partnerships

 
Je nach Geschäftsmodell bietet es sich als Startup an, eine strategische Partnerschaft mit Nicht-Konkurrenten, Lieferanten oder Service Providern einzugehen, um Risiken zu reduzieren oder Skalierbarkeit zu gewährleisten. Wer sind eure wichtigsten Partner?
 

Cost Structure

 
Wo umgesetzt wird entstehen auch Kosten, besonders für Key Activites, Resources und Partnerships. Mit Blick auf diese Elemente sollten die wichtigsten Kostenpunkte schnell erfasst sein. Was sind eure wichtigsten Ausgaben ohne die das Geschäftsmodell nicht laufen würde?
 

Sichere dir jetzt kostenlos unser umfangreiches Whitepaper mit allen wichtigen Infos zum Thema Business Model Canvas


White Paper downloaden

Literaturtipp: Alexander Osterwalder „Business Model Generation“

 
Alexander Osterwalder, Baujahr 1974, ist selbst Entrepreneur und gilt als Business Model Innovator. Sein Startup „Business Model Foundry“ hat sich zur Aufgabe gemacht neue Tools für Innovatoren und Startups zu entwickeln. Als Author und Speaker ist er in der ganzen Welt unterwegs und hat mit dem Business Model Canvas schon über 5.000.000 Menschen erreicht. Sein Buch „Business Model Generation: A Handbook for Visionaries, Game Changers, and Challengers“ und seine Webseite businessmodelgeneration.com können wir nur empfehlen.
 


Startup Wiki

 

Neueste Beiträge